Work and fun

There’s an old saying that goes, “Work hard and play hard.” That’s a good one, but it doesn’t factor in things like beautiful Sunday afternoons when you have work to do. What are you supposed to do, sit inside? I say no. Take the laptop to the park. It’s cool.

Work and fun are two different things, but they exist concurrently whether you want them to or not. For example, when I am out having fun, the mom in my brain screams at me about all the work I’m not doing. And when I’m working, the other mom in my brain screams at me that I’m wasting my youth and that I need to make memories for when I die.

So I try to please both moms. When I get home from work and have more work to do, I do things like drink while I’m working. When I’m out having fun, I do things like make mental lists while I’m peeing. Sometimes I do a fun-work hybrid where I go out for fun with people who work on the same things and we talk about work the whole time. It’s fun.

People tell me that it’s important to have fun without work, but if I allow myself a weekend of pure fun, I’m not going to want to work on Monday. Similarly, if I stay in for two weeks doing work, I will start to think of fun as a sort of witchy temptress. Fun mode and work mode both want you for their own, but you have to keep them guessing.

You may have noticed that I used the word “fun” instead of “life.” That’s because life is work and fun. There’s not much room in between to keep an apartment tidy and prepare good food. One day the work I do will allow me to pay for those things. That’s not actually true, but it’s how I get the third mom to leave me alone.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

